Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2968

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2968

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958

Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2968
I.E. 7 Memory Leak
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Sergeant at Arms Andy Cap's Avatar
    Join Date
    03-19-2002
    Location
    New Hampshire
    Posts
    6,932

    Default I.E. 7 Memory Leak

    So as some of you know, I built a monster machine. It has dual 1 GB NVidia cards, an 28GB of RAm with 4.5 TB hard drive.

    I run Vista Ultimate 64. And for the most part the machine runs great, except with I.E. 7.

    I know you will all tell me to use FireFox, and i do, but I.E. is necesssary for some things. i.e. work related.

    Now, I.E. hangs on my from time to time, and hangs the machine. The memory usage spikes to some rediculous amount, and doesn't come back down to a realistic level when it is done. For example, I.E. is pulling 545MB right now, and I am doing nothing.

    I have searched through all kinds of tech forums and such and have not found anything that helps. I know some of you are desktop guys and such. Any ideas?
    ------------------------------------------------------------


    [DP]Andy Cap

  2. #2
    DP JCS Recruiter 0xDEADBEEF's Avatar
    Join Date
    04-28-2007
    Posts
    1,598

    Default Re: I.E. 7 Memory Leak

    If you have to have IE - try IE8?

    I've found (at work) that IE has big problems with opening a pdf document. Not sure what the version is though.


  3. #3
    Retired DP Member JamJarUK's Avatar
    Join Date
    10-09-2008
    Posts
    1,077

    Default Re: I.E. 7 Memory Leak

    yep ie 8 bro

  4. #4
    Senior Correspondent - DPNews Meaty Portion's Avatar
    Join Date
    04-28-2007
    Location
    Madison, WI---land of drunks
    Posts
    2,710

    Default Re: I.E. 7 Memory Leak

    IE basically sucks balls all the way around. Between that and Vista I'm ready to take my laptop to the shooting range. Thanks, Microsoft.

    Good luck, Andy.

    Can you unravel Meaty's secret message??
    اندي يحظى الجميلة ويسكي وذكر الاعضاء التناسليه
    "If something about the human body disgusts you complain to the manufacturer."
    - Lenny Bruce
    So what?

  5. #5
    DP Guild Member Ripper1302's Avatar
    Join Date
    04-28-2007
    Location
    Antarctica
    Posts
    1,587

    Default Re: I.E. 7 Memory Leak

    Quote Originally Posted by Meaty Portion View Post
    IE basically sucks balls all the way around. Between that and Vista I'm ready to take my laptop to the shooting range.
    The IE/Vista combination is a secret effort on the part of the US Army to frustrate soldiers trying to exceed their maximum porn download allocation! Now we know how you are spending your off-patrol time.

    Ripper1302

  6. #6
    DP JCS Recruiter 0xDEADBEEF's Avatar
    Join Date
    04-28-2007
    Posts
    1,598

    Default Re: I.E. 7 Memory Leak

    Quote Originally Posted by Meaty Portion View Post
    IE basically sucks balls all the way around. Between that and Vista I'm ready to take my laptop to the shooting range. Thanks, Microsoft.

    Good luck, Andy.
    I did bring an old CRT out and put a shotgun slug through it - it was therapeutic.


  7. #7
    DP Guild Member Blatherbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-17-2008
    Location
    Bastrop, Tx
    Posts
    3,239

    Default Re: I.E. 7 Memory Leak

    My firefox actually does the same thing but only after hours of running. Ive had it taking up to 300 to 400meg of my ram until i shut it down and restart firefox. But again, thats after ive had it running for hours. Its like it picks up steam.

    Have you tried the emulation of IE that FF has? I know lori also has to use IE For some work things so i konw what your going through, just wanted to make sure your bases are covered.

    Have you also tried Opera or Safari in place of IE? Just some thoughts.

  8. #8
    It's alive Johnny Canuck's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-15-2007
    Location
    Funcouver
    Posts
    1,608

    Default Re: I.E. 7 Memory Leak

    28GB? Holy shit, you could run Skynet on that.
    Siggy.

  9. #9
    DP Guild Member Terdohurtles's Avatar
    Join Date
    11-03-2007
    Location
    Prescott, Az
    Posts
    1,727

    Default Re: I.E. 7 Memory Leak

    Quote Originally Posted by Johnny Canuck View Post
    28GB? Holy shit, you could run Skynet on that.
    Lol, you said Skynet....

    Prolly right though...
    "You are 10% what happens to you, and 90% how you react to it."

  10. #10
    DP Guild Member Blatherbeard's Avatar
    Join Date
    06-17-2008
    Location
    Bastrop, Tx
    Posts
    3,239

    Default Re: I.E. 7 Memory Leak

    that would run V1 but skynet V2 needs at least 28g just for the crashes it deals with when they upgraded the new OS just to find out they needed to create another OS that simulated the OLDER OS and ran better than the NEW OS.


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:19 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.2
Copyright © 2019 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
vBulletin Skin By: PurevB.com